@realdonaldtrump Why I’m not mad about your new CDC director

do not care

Our troops are up in arms over the Atlanta Journal-Constitution’s article that ran last week, breaking the news that Trump is considering Brenda Fitzgerald, the Georgia Health Commissioner, as the new Director of the CDC. Her confirmation was announced by HHS two hours ago.

Is Dr. Brenda what we call “vaccine friendly?” Not in the slightest. Under her reign, Georgia instituted a requirement that notarized religious vaccine exemptions affirmed that vaccines are necessary to prevent the spread of dangerous diseases, vaccines are safe, and that unvaccinated kids are at risk of spreading those diseases to other people, including to the parent who is signing the exemption.

Three years ago Dr. Brenda wrote a love letter to the prenatal Tdap called “Babies Need Their Vaccines for the same newspaper that had the scoop on her federal appointment.

Do you know what really gets under my skin? Calling vaccines by a name that gives their ownership to a newborn. It’s gross. They are not the baby’s shots. They are Merck’s shots and Pfizer’s shots, and the pediatrician bought those shots, so if anything, they are the doctor’s shots.  “Babies Need Doctor Shots” is a more accurate title for her essay.

In her letter she makes sweeping platitudes such as, “I’ve heard all the arguments against vaccination. All have been debunked.” Sweet Jesus, I don’t even know what she’s talking about–  “all” of these vaccinated vs. unvaccinated studies that debunk the damage our children live with every day?

She signs off with, “I am a mother. I am vaccinated. And I ask you to join me.”

Bless her heart. This lady is 72 years old. She got all the way to the age of 10 before the polio vaccine was even invented. If we didn’t vaccinate kids until they were 10 our autism rates would be down to the 1 in 10,000 people that actually have a genetic predisposition for it.

Anyway. She’s obviously not a top 100 choice for any of us.

I don’t know why she’s been appointed. I watch House of Cards so I can only imagine the deals that go down before this kind of decision is made. She’s had political aspirations for a while; she’s run for Congress twice and lost.

In my opinion, the only business Dr. Brenda has being director of the CDC is if she’s there to dismantle it because she’d eventually be out of a job anyway, and Trump or someone else has promised to give her a juicy position afterward.

Despite the fact that the CDC owns vaccine patents and the CDC publishes the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices recommended schedule that’s adopted by the states, here’s why I’m not going to lose any sleep over a vaccine zealot being appointed to the CDC:

Dr. Brenda ultimately answers to Dr. Tom Price, and Tom Price, at minimum, doesn’t think the Feds have any business regulating vaccines. I’ve heard that autism-and-vaccines is not Tom Price’s specialty, but I’ve also heard– and one important person made reference to this possibility in a Vaxxed video– that there’s a chance that we’ve got someone coming into the CDC who does specialize in it, and they want to prove it.

So, President Trump can appoint a vax lover to the CDC to appease whomever he needs to appease right now, as long as he tells her “You’re fired” sooner than later.

Then guess what? Other people get to be the head honcho of vaccine safety– maybe one of our people.

If I’m wrong about all of this, I’ll come back and let you know in the comments, but stay tuned. Watch the lineup. Don’t give up hope.

 

13 thoughts on “@realdonaldtrump Why I’m not mad about your new CDC director

    1. So long as Dr. Fitzgerald understands that vaccines don’t work and endorses religious exemptions against vaccines then I have no problem. However, if she’s been doctor-nated (blind/uneducated re: the dangers of vaccines while mandating vaccines) then she must go.

      Like

  1. I think you hope against all hope. I think you are trying to keep it together since you voted for this #45 thinking he will change our world for the better, free us of this vaccine madness. If Hillary would have appointed this woman, I doubt you would give Hillary’s decision so much credit, good will and conspiracy hopes… Trump cares about one thing, $$$. And that’s that.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. My apologies. I follow your blog since a long time and I thought to have read that you motivated people to look at their republican candidates since they are more anti vaccine than the left, and to remember that Trump cannot be bought because Trump already cares. But one right does not eliminate all the wrong these people stand for (in my book).
        Personally I am glad to know that my favorite blog writer did not vote for this man.

        Like

    1. oh cause Hillary doesnt care about money? She has been the politician that was best paid by BigPharma for 15 years. Shut the front door.

      Like

  2. First of all, thank you for posting! I wait for your posts and get so excited when you post something new.
    I was upset when I heard about this, but since you’re saying it could be ok- I feel better. I really hope you’re right because I’m so tired of hearing about babies dying and children being harmed.

    Like

  3. This must be the most incoherent thing I’ve ever read:

    “So, President Trump can appoint a vax lover to the CDC to appease whomever he needs to appease right now, as long as he tells her “You’re fired” sooner than later.

    Then guess what? Other people get to be the head honcho of vaccine safety– maybe one of our people.”

    Like

  4. “Dr. Brenda ultimately answers to Dr. Tom Price, and Tom Price, at minimum, doesn’t think the Feds have any business regulating vaccines.”

    This strikes me as an overstatement. It sounds like he believes that states should be in charge of mandates, but as far as I know, has not indicated that the CDC shouldn’t be developing schedules, that the FDA shouldn’t be reviewing vaccine applications, and so on.

    Liked by 1 person

Try not to be dicks to each other. If your comment didn't come through, it's probably because you said something that caused it to automatically go to the trash.

